Cricket Betting

57th Filmfare Awards

Bollywood News Feb 25, 2012 No comments
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.5/5 (2 votes cast)

The 57th Idea Filmfare awards were held on 29th January at Film City. It was co-hosted by Shah Rukh Khan and Ranbir Kapoor who kept the audiences in splits throughout the show.

57th Filmfare Awards hosts - Karan Johar and Shahrukh Khan

57th Filmfare Awards hosts - Karan Johar and Shahrukh Khan

They killed the show with rib-tickling jokes and facetious skits, ridiculing each other and other people in the audience. They were spontaneous, entertaining and witty, keeping the attention of the crowds intact.

Shah Rukh impetuously ridiculed his own box office debacle, Ra.One throughout the show. He also mocked Ranbir’s acting skills and along with other eminent personalities in the industry. It was surprising to watch everybody take these jokes in a positive spirit and laugh over them instead of holding grudges against each other. Basically, it was beautiful, star-studded event, conducted amazingly by the two brilliant hosts.

The first set of awards was the technical awards. Niharika Khanna won the award for best costume for the movie Dirty Picture where ironically the leading lady was barely clothed. Vidya Balan was dressed very scantily since she played the role of the legendary Silk Smitha in this film. Nakul Kamte won the award for the best sound effects for Don 2 and Shankar Tere for the best production design for Delhi Belly. Delhi Belly got the award for best editing. The award distribution was intervened by the newly married couple, Ritesh Deshmukh and Genelia D’Souza’s scintillating performance to a medley of romantic songs like Jashn-e-Bahara, Mahi Ve, Teri Ore and Mehendi Laga Ke Rakhna.

The technical awards then recommenced. Carlos Catalan, the much talked about foreigner boyfriend of Zoya Akhtar won the award for the best cinematography for Zindagi Milegi Na Dobara. The award for the best action went to Don 2 for its unique action stunts and also display of various martial arts forms in the movie.

This ended the set of technical awards. It was followed by a performance by Deepika Padukone on some of her hit songs of this year, one being the title track of Dum Maaro Dum and the other, Subha Hone Na De from the movie Desi Boyz.

The next set of awards was the music awards. The R.D. Burman award for the best music talent was given to Krsna for creating some amazing, foot-tapping numbers for the movie Tanu Weds Manu like Sadi Gali and Jugni. Usha Utthup cried on winning her first award in her career of forty-two years for best playback singer in the female category for the song Darling from the movie Saat Khoon Maaf. Mohit Chauhan won the award for the Best Playback in the male category for the song Jo Bhi Main from the movie Rockstar. Irshad Kamil was commemorated as the Best Lyricist for the song Nadaan Parinday from Rockstar, a beautiful, soulful number. The award for the Best Music Director was the 2500th Filmfare and it was a special, diamond-studded trophy. It was awarded to the well-deserving A.R. Rahman for the song Sadda Haq in Rockstar.

The critics’ awards preceded the music awards. The Sony Scene of the Year award was given to The Dirty Picture. This was followed by a superb performance by Priyanka Chopra on seven songs wherein she was to choose her husband from the seven prospective grooms. The foregoing year saw the loss of two legendary superstars of Bollywood, Dev Anand and Shammi Kapoor. A band played their popular songs such as ‘Khoya Khoya Chand’ and ‘Badan Pe Sitare’ to pay them a tribute. Rani Mukherjee, after a very long time on the social front, making public appearances. She also won the award for the Best Supporting Role (Female) for the movie No One Killed Jessica. Farhan Akhtar won the award for The Best Supporting Actor (Male) for the movie Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. His parents, Javed Akhtar and Shabana Azmi, handed him over the trophy. A special jury award was given to child artist, Partho Gupte for a brilliant performance in the movie Stanley Ka Dabba.

The heartthrob of every man, the beautiful Madhuri Dixit was also present at the event. Looking as gorgeous as ever, she was called on stage by Shah Rukh to commemorate the contribution of women to the film industry. The evergreen Rekha was also called on stage for the same. They also danced with Shah Rukh and Ranbir. Both being great actresses and having contributed to the film industry in significant ways were acknowledged for their endowment to the industry.

The critics’ awards recommenced and Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara won the award for the Best Film (critics’ choice). The Kapoor sisters, Kareena and Karishma gave away the award for the Best Actor (Male) in the critics’ category to their brother; Ranbir Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra won the Best Actor (Female) in the same category for her movie Saat Khoon Maaf.

Bosco and Caesar won the award for the Best Choreography for the movie Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara and Red Chillies won one for the Best Background score. Then began the main set of awards. The much talked about newcomer, Priyanka Chopra’s sister Parineeti Chopra has made her mark in Bollywood. She won the award for the Best Debutante for Ladies v/s Ricky Bahl. Vidyut Jamwal won Best Debutant award for his negative role in Force. Abhinay Deo won the Best Debut Director for Delhi Belly.

Aruna Irani got the Lifetime achievement award, given away by Ramesh Sippy and Raveena Tandon. I Am Kalam won the award for the Best Story, written by Sanjay Chauhan. Best Screenplay was given to Akshat Verma for Delhi Belly again. Reena Kagti was awarded Best Dialogues for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. This was succeeded by the most invigorating performance of the day by none other than the King Khan himself. He danced to three of his hit numbers with little kids of ages 8-10. It was by far the most entertaining performance of the day!

Zoya Akhtar won the award for Best Director for Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. It also got an award for the Best Film. Vidya Balan won the Best Actress award for her awe-inspiring performance for the portrayal of Silk Smitha in the super hit, The Dirty Picture and Ranbir Kapoor won the Best Actor award for his role as Jordan in the film Rockstar. Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara evidently stole the show by winning maximum number of awards, followed by Rockstar. Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara had the maximum number of nominations as well.

It was mesmerizing to see the entire film industry turn up for an event like this, dressed in their best and most graceful attires. The who’s who of Bollywood was present. The Bachchans and Salman Khan were conspicuous by their absence but apart from them, every living soul working on or behind the silver screen was present. It was as grand as ever with the most amazing hosts and a level of performances that Filmfare has never seen before.


Leave a Reply